Today I smiled!

Today I smiled!  I smiled to myself!  I smiled because for the first time in along time I felt….. how did I feel??  Today I felt….. no I remembered…. that sense of confidence I lost so long ago!

Today I did hold my head high!  Today I did not wear a mask!  Today the way I felt was real!

And why??  Because today I wanted to carry on!  Today I felt a spark!  A spark that can either be extinguished or can be become a burning flame that will light up the darkest of places.

And when you have lived in the darkest of places without hope, without light and without colour, you know that the smallest flame can be the most welcome and comforting gift that can be given.

So that spark is my beginning!

And that’s why I smiled this morning……

Leave a Reply

