Waiting for life…..

tragedy of life“The tragedy of life is not that it ends so soon, but that we wait so long to begin it”  (Author unknown) 

My life is balanced precariously on a ledge!

So long have I waited!  So long I have dreamt of now.  So long I have thought about what I would do.  So long I have wondered how it would feel.

So long I have waited!  And now??  Now I wait….

Oh I want to travel the world.  I want to climb mountains, swim in the bluest of oceans and visit every major city in the world. I want to go back to school.  I want to learn a language, to paint, to play my guitar.  I want to learn yoga and go surfing.  I want to buy a camper van and live by the sea.  I want to capture every moment.  I want to conquer the world.

And yet I wait…

Because of the fear! Because the risk is too great!  Because I might loose!  Because I have to do it alone!

Because in my world I am safe!  Because if I stay here I can dream!  Because I don’t have to make decisions!  Because everyone will be watching and waiting…

Waiting for me to fail, to fall, to loose myself again.

And then I smile….and then I remember…..

The only thing left to loose is life itself!  And the risk??  The risk is that by not living I will loose life!

The risk is not taking the opportunity that is in front of me. The risk is not taking this moment, this life in both hands and giving it my all.

And everyday I tell myself that I never want to look back with regret, I want to look back and smile.

And so tomorrow??  Tomorrow I will learn to fly…..

Leave a Reply

