Mad! Mad! Mad! But proud! Proud! Proud!

20130525_101358

Yes that is my finger on the lens!

What can I say?  Two weeks ago this mad, mad, mad person was standing right there!  Right there at the start line!  Right there at the start line of the London 2 Brighton Challenge wondering what she was doing.  A fleeting moment in time!

Five months beforehand I had madly signed up to walk 100km continuously over night to raise money for Help for Heroes charity!  My first ever challenge!  No I couldn’t do a fun run or bake cakes, no I decided to walk 100km – 62 miles!  My reasons?  Check out my page www.justgiving.com/Ali-Betts 

When I told people, they would go very quiet on me and say ‘that’s an awful long way! Why are you doing it?’  My reply always the same – it’s a challenge!!

No one believed I would do it or even that I could do it and they were right!

20130527_142717

So two weeks ago I stood at the start line with my rucksack on my back (and Kermit – he goes everywhere with us and anyone who has been following me for a while may remember the time I was given 80 of them because of a smile!) with my team Sisterz with Blisterz and for a fleeting moment in time wondered what I was doing there!!

Twenty six hours after this photo was taken, this mad, mad person had walked, through the night and arrived at the 80.2km point and then could walk no more.

But you know what?  Yes they were right!  No I couldn’t walk 100km!  But I still managed 80.2km (50 miles)!

And my memories?  I danced in a field under the biggest red moon to  Feel the Love by Rudimental.  Climbed mountains and came down the other side, saw Happy Valley and woods full of bluebells, there was mud, mud and more mud, fields and woods.

Negotiated hundreds of stiles and ran through fields of cows (I’m scared of cows).   Clambered down hillsides of loose rock and stone and bonded in silence with my fellow hikers.

Watched the sun go down and then come up again.  Paused to watch the morning  mist rise over the calm of a lake and heard the morning birdsong.

20130522_214334

I wore my Help for Heroes t shirt with pride, despite the sadness in my heart for the life of Drummer Lee Rigby tragically taken several days before.  I was stopped and told I was brave wearing that t shirt – but I wasn’t the brave one, I was just walking.

So now?  Now I start again!  And next year?  Next year I try again!  And next year?  Next year I will walk 100km!  And why?  Because I know I can 🙂

Inspired by:  Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting

 

19 responses to “Mad! Mad! Mad! But proud! Proud! Proud!

  1. amazing. the story and the pic and the endurance. you are so right to focus on the FACT THAT YOU WALKED 80KM – that is already insane, what a great accomplishment – don’t be bummed you didn’t make it to the end – continue to celebrate the lengths you got to and the adventures you had [i have a stuffed dolphin called No_bob that i won on the Brighton pier, so the idea of accompanying Kermits is great!] – so inspired, keep on and thankx for sharing!

    • Insane and totally mad – and that about sums me up lol. Thank you because you just added another smile to my day. Oh but I have to ask – why No_bob?? 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting 2 The Street | What's (in) the picture?·

  3. lordy, 50 miles! I think the memory (and pain) of that would stick in my mind for a very long time 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting 3 Painted Cows | What's (in) the picture?·

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: FLEETING | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy·

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting 4 Mont BeuvrayTree | What's (in) the picture?·

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | blogagaini·

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Fleeting / Mont Beuvray View | What's (in) the picture?·

  9. Pingback: Weekly photo Challenge : Fleeting | Denis Danze Photographe Freelance·

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Fleeting / Dead Tree | What's (in) the picture?·

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Fleeting / Dead Tree 2 | What's (in) the picture?·

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Fleeting / Mont Beuvray View 2 | What's (in) the picture?·

Leave a Reply

