When did you last write a letter??

SAMSUNG CSCWhen was the last time?  The last time you wrote a letter??  A handwritten letter?  A letter just because…

There is something so very special about holding an envelope, knowing that not so long ago the sender too had held that letter in their hands.

And as you stand, knowing who it is from, holding it to you, it is the most precious gift that can be given.

This morning a FFAL (Forces Free Air Letter), a bluey sent from a distant shore and written from a Guard ‘box’ in the middle of the night, was posted through my letterbox.

I stood holding that gift to me, relishing the moment which had taken me by surprise.  In that moment my world took a breath and my heart a jump.  What is it in such a simple blue envelope that could bring so many emotions, could stop a world and spin a memory so vivid, so bright, of a time of childhood, the bubble of laughter and the sunshine of a smile?

We would sing ‘You are my sunshine, my only sunshine..’ and those tiny hands would clap, those same tiny hands which have grown into the hands that have held the most powerful of weapons and yet the most powerful is the pen he used to write that note.

I sat pouring over every word, listening to the voice of my son speak out from the blue of the single page and I missed him.  I touched the loops made in ink that had been scratched and scribed onto the paper and I missed him.

Inbetween the lines I heard his voice whisper I am alone, I am lonely, I miss home… and I missed him more.

In his words he reached out from so far away, telling me of his surroundings, the weather, his daily routine and telling me that he was ok.  A comfort sent home.  A comfort that said so much yet asked for so little.

But I knew that as he sat there in the dead of the night, when the silence and the void creep tendrils into your heart and home is another place, another time.

But home is what always stays the same.  And in that sameness is comfort.

The comfort of family.  The comfort of home.

 

Inspired by: Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through Your Eyes

 

8 responses to “When did you last write a letter??

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes (Pigeon) | What's (in) the picture?·

  2. When our Marine was at basic training I wrote to him every day. When we were overseas I’d keep letters from home and read them so often most of them disintegrated from being folded and refolded. There’s something about seeing a loved one’s handwriting that brings them close, almost like being with them. Beautifully expressed.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes (Provence) | What's (in) the picture?·

  4. Pingback: W.P. Photo Challenge – Through My Eyes – Road Trip | Bastet and Sekhmet·

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through Your Eyes | Denis Danze Photographe Freelance·

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes (Les Amants Nimes) | What's (in) the picture?·

  7. Pingback: He’s coming home…. | My life! My Way!·

Leave a Reply

