My boots and I walked and then walked some more….

SAMSUNG CSC The Jurassic Coastline, Dorset, England

See those cliffs??  Well I might just have hiked and climbed every single one of them in 10 hours!  And why??

In May 2013, I attempted to walk 100km from London to Brighton to raise money for Help for Heroes charity – it was hard work and I managed 80km in 26 hours before making the decision that it was all a bit too much.

But then 2 weeks ago,  I climbed those there cliffs covering 35km in 10 hours to finish off what I had started and complete the 100km that I had promised my chosen charity.

I was not alone…. wives, mums, sisters, brothers, dads.  The oldest in his 70s and the youngest just 15.  A team of 250!

We climbed up and we climbed down and then we did it all again. The sun blazed in an azure sky, the sea of diamonds sparkled below us and to the left of us, the breeze whispered through the heat of the day and still we trekked on…..

SAMSUNG CSC

And we trekked on …..

SAMSUNG CSC

And despite the dangers….

SAMSUNG CSC

We worked together, we stuck together, we encouraged and motivated each other….. we started at Swanage and ended at Lulworth Cove

SAMSUNG CSC2013 has become the year that I traded my heels for boots and began a journey which has pushed my mind, my body and my soul.

A journey of endurance.

A journey of self discovery.

9492944253_c903ce2ed7

A journey which ended with a medal and a smile.

1167418_609838825733743_143328226_o

A journey which ended with a newspaper story!

A journey with, what are now a much loved, well worn, pair of hiking boots 🙂

A journey which has only just begun…….

 

Inspired by: Daily Prompt: These Boots Were Made for Walking

 

4 responses to “My boots and I walked and then walked some more….

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: These Boots Were Made for Walking | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  2. Pingback: Do I really have a favorite pair of shoes? | Rob's Surf Report·

Leave a Reply

