Here we go again….

defaultSilent thoughts told through raised eyebrows….. and then the sigh that is the only sound to break the silence.

‘What have you done this time???’ says the weary tone that reeks with disappointment.

Why can’t you just settle down??  Why can’t you just grow up??  Soundless words heard by searching eyes.

But I can’t help but smile because I am proud of what I have achieved.  I am proud of the journey I begun almost a year ago.  A journey into the unknown in which I ranted and raved and explored and dreamed and hoped.  A journey in which I not only sat in front of a computer analysing my life but one in which I traded my heels for boots, my handbag for rucksack and walked and walked and walked and then walked some more.

So why the raised eyebrows?

The ballot for the Great Battlefield Bike Ride 2014…… chose me!!

So this mad, bit of a drama queen will be trading four wheels for two to ride 335 miles from Brussels to Paris, marking the start of WWI to remember those who paid the ultimate sacrifice.

This mad, bit of a drama queen will be raising money for Help for Heroes.

This mad, bit of a drama queen will be doing it to remember her own granddad who returned from WWI and her uncle who never returned from WWII.

And this mad, bit of a drama queen will return and ride down the Mall in London with all of those heroes knowing that my journey has been worth it.

So tomorrow??

Tomorrow…… I’d best think about learning to ride a bike 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

